About the Fire Safety Branch

The Fire Safety Branch is committed to providing a safer community to NSW by minimising the potential consequences of fires and other emergencies. This is achieved through providing technical advice, assessment and consultancy services to the building and fire safety industries, and by offering guidance to regulatory authorities and government agencies to ensure fire safety measures are commensurate with identified risks and comply with regulatory and legislative obligations.

The Fire Safety Branch is part of the Community Safety Directorate and is directed by the Chief Superintendent Fire Safety, Chief Superintendent Steven Hayes. The branch comprises the following business units:

Fire Safety Advisory Unit Manager - Daire Fleming
Fire Safety Compliance Unit Manager - Stephan Netting
Fire Safety Infrastructure Liaison Unit Manager - Matthew Rowley
Fire Safety Operational Liaison & Special Hazards Unit Manager - Superintendent James O'Carroll
Fire Safety Preoccupancy Unit Manager - Superintendent Michael Jay
Fire Safety Policy Unit Manager - Jamie Vistnes


Contact us

Location: 1 Amarina Avenue, Greenacre  NSW  2190
Mailing address: Fire and Rescue NSW, Locked Mail Bag 12, Greenacre  NSW  2190
Phone number: (02) 9742 7434
Facsimile number: (02) 9742 7483
Email address: firesafety@fire.nsw.gov.au
Website address: www.fire.nsw.gov.au/firesafety
Business hours: 8.00 am to 4:30 pm, Monday to Friday