Who we are

Fire and Rescue NSW (FRNSW) (as of 1 January 2011) formerly the New South Wales Fire Brigades (NSWFB), created in 1910, is the State Government agency responsible for the provision of fire, rescue and hazmat services in cities and towns across New South Wales in accordance with the Fire and Rescue NSW Act 1989 [external link], the State Emergency and Rescue Management Act 1989 [external link] and other related legislation. The FRNSW is one of the key agencies involved in the response phase of most emergency or disaster events throughout NSW.

FRNSW is one of the world’s largest urban fire and rescue services and is the busiest in Australia. Our overriding purpose is to enhance community safety, quality of life, and confidence by minimising the impact of hazards and emergency incidents on the people, property, environment and economy of NSW.

Our highly-skilled fire officers and support staff provide rapid, reliable help in emergencies, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Our aim is to save lives and reduce the number of injuries caused by emergencies and disasters. We also protect the environment and minimise damage to property, including major infrastructure. In partnership with the community and other emergency services, we strive hard to prevent emergencies, while at the same time planning and training to deal with those that do occur.

FRNSW has its headquarters and logistics support centre at 1 Amarina Ave, Greenacre; operational communication centres at Alexandria and Newcastle; a training college at Alexandria; a network of 335 fire stations across the State, a fleet of 684 firefighting vehicles and a contingent of 188 accredited rescue crews.

FRNSW currently has more than 6858 Firefighters; approximately 5891 Community Fire Unit Members and 432 Administrative and Trades Staff working together for a safer, confident community.

Our Commissioner

Paul Baxter BBS, EFO, FIFireE, NZIM was appointed Commissioner of Fire and Rescue NSW on 16 January 2017 as the 22nd Commissioner of FRNSW.
Read more about Commissioner Paul Baxter

Our workforce and ranks

FRNSW consists of some 6858 Firefighters and 6318 Community Fire Unit Members, two Chaplains and some 432 Administrative and Trades Staff.
More about our workforce and ranks

Our emblem and name

On 1 January 2011 the NSW Fire Brigades changed its name to Fire and Rescue NSW (FRNSW).
Learn more about our name and official emblem

Our history

FRNSW is a contemporary, service-based organisation which has grown significantly since first being established over on a hundred years ago.
Learn about our history

Our values

Every aspect of the work we do at FRNSW is guided by our shared values.
Learn about our shared values

Organisational structure

View our organisation structure.
Organisational structure

Committees and strategic alliances

FRNSW works closely in strategic alliances with other emergency and support services through the State Emergency Management Committee and State Rescue Board, the Fire Services Joint Standing Committee and the Bushfire Coordinating Committee.
Committees and strategic alliances