1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Who we are
  4. The Commissioner of Fire and Rescue NSW
Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size

The Commissioner of Fire and Rescue NSW

Commissioner Greg Mullins AFSM - Biography

Photo of Commissioner Greg MullinsFire & Rescue NSW (FRNSW) is one of the largest urban fire services in the world, with more than 6,900 firefighters serving at 338 fire stations throughout the state, 418 support staff, and nearly 7,000 Community Fire Unit volunteers. 

Greg Mullins was appointed as Commissioner of the FRNSW on 4 July 2003. He is the first person in the history of the FRNSW to be appointed as both Chief Fire Officer and CEO, and to have come from the ranks.

Commissioner Mullins joined FRNSW in 1978 after serving for six years as a volunteer firefighter with the NSW Bushfire Service (now Rural Fire Service). He rose steadily through the ranks serving in operational and specialist positions, becoming a Station Officer in 1990, a District Officer (Inspector) in 1992, a Superintendent in 1995, and an Assistant Commissioner in 1996. In 2000 he was appointed as Director State Operations. He has represented Australian fire services nationally and internationally on issues concerning emergency management, managing the consequences of terrorist attacks, and urban search and rescue. He is Deputy Chair of the NSW State Emergency Management Committee, Deputy President of the Australasian Fire and Emergency Service Authorities Council (AFAC), and is the Australian Director of the International Association of Asian Fire Chiefs. 

Apart from his experience as a fire and rescue officer, in 1995 he was awarded a Churchill Fellowship to study fire services in the UK, Spain, France, Canada and the USA, and in 1998 he spent 12 months managing a major international project for a private sector company. Commissioner Mullins has a Masters Degree in Management, fire engineering diplomas, has completed the Oxford Strategic Leadership Program, the Executive Fire Officer Program at the United States Fire Academy, and is a Fellow of the Institution of Fire Engineers and the Australian Institute of Management. During his career he has been awarded the Australian Fire Service Medal, the Australian National Medal and 2 Clasps, Commendation for Courageous Action, Chief Officer’s Commendation, FRNSW Long Service and Good Conduct Medal and 2 Clasps, and the St John Ambulance Emergency Services Award.

Floods and storms information

For emergency help in floods and storms call the SES on 132 500. Call Triple Zero (000) for life-threatening emergencies.

For tips on what your family can do to prepare for storms, visit www.stormsafe.com.au [external link]