Friendly competition between neighbour states' best firies

Published: 8th March 2010

Emergency Services Minister Steve Whan today congratulated two NSW Fire Brigades (NSWFB) teams after competing in the Victoria State Firefighting Championships in Mildura, last weekend.

Mr Whan said the Championships (6 - 8 March) tested a range of firefighting skills.

"The men and women in these teams trained for 10 months to take on the best firefighters from Victoria," Mr Whan said.

"This is the first time each of the 11 firefighters has taken part in the competition and they were very proud to represent NSW.
"They were judged in a number of events, including contemporary firefighting skills and historical events like cart and hose operations, designed to test their speed, technique and teamwork.
"Championships provide our firefighters with the opportunity to practice and develop their skills, and demonstrate to the community and their peers NSWFB's professionalism and expertise.

"Whilst they didn’t take the Championships' title on this occasion they certainly did NSW proud.  They had a fantastic weekend, met some great people and got a really positive response from the crowd," Mr Whan said.

NSWFB Director of Regional Operations Jim Hamilton said that the event was a good chance to see what firefighters do. 

"Firefighter Championships mean that members of the public can get an up close insight into what we do and the Mildura community really got behind all of the teams competing.

"The Victoria competition was good practice in the lead up to the first NSWFB Firefighting Championships for 2010, in Forbes on 27 - 28 March."

Team one

(coached by Deputy Captain John Dun from Nowra)   

  • Firefighter - Station   
  • Retained firefighter Jennifer Cameron - Cootamundra
  • Retained firefighter Alison Douglas - Bundeena
  • Retained firefighter Shane Foster - Menai
  • Retained firefighter Kate Jackson (wife of Simon) - Toukley
  • Retained firefighter Simon Jackson (husband of Kate) - Toukley
  • Retained firefighter Mitchell Rourke - Toukley
  • Retained firefighter Rhianon Williams - Batemans Bay

Team two

  • Firefighter - Station   
  • Retained firefighter Leslie Booth - Deniliquin
  • Retained Captain Michael Edwards - Hay
  • Retained Captain Ernest Vinecombe - Deniliquin
  • Retained firefighter Gavin Wickenden - Griffith