20 new firefighters to protect communities

Published: 6th November 2008

Twenty NSW Fire Brigade (NSWFB) recruit graduates will take up new firefighting careers at fire stations across Sydney after successfully completing 16 weeks of intensive training.

Parliamentary Secretary for Emergency Services Phil Koperberg and NSWFB Commissioner Greg Mullins presented the recruits with their graduation certificates at a ceremony at the NSWFB’s State Training College in Alexandria this morning.

"Firefighters are constantly testing themselves and the skills they develop in training to respond to a huge range of emergency situations and protect our communities in both city and regional areas from fires and other emergencies," Mr Koperberg said.

Commissioner Mullins said the role of firefighters working in the NSWFB was incredibly diverse and challenging.

"Our firefighters don't only respond to fires, they manage many other major emergencies such as rescues, hazardous chemical spills and gas leaks," Commissioner Mullins said.

"A large part of their role also is focused on increasing community awareness of firedangers to help prevent fires happening in the first place.

"The recruits will now put their four months of training into action and will continue to develop new skills through further studies and on-the-job experience."

The graduates come from backgrounds as diverse as police officers, landscapers, bakers, accountants and construction workers.

The recruits start their new roles tomorrow at fire stations across Sydney.

Firefighter - Station
  • Alexander Arthur - Ashfield
  • Christopher Parfitt - City of Sydney
  • Mark Bakker - Lidcombe
  • Ryan Rayner - Cranebrook
  • Joshua Bolin - Lakemba
  • David Robinson - Silverwater
  • Brett Carle - Chester Hill
  • Dean Russell - City of Sydney
  • Jon Cleghorn - Bankstown
  • Adam Ryan - City of Sydney
  • Geoffrey Ferguson - Ryde
  • Daniel Sargeant - Concord
  • Andrew Hayes - The Rocks
  • Lenny Soro - Mt Druitt
  • Lee Johnson - Concord
  • Brett Spears - Lidcombe
  • Paul Knight - Guilford
  • Justin Taylor - Ashfield
  • Dane McGinn - Fairfield
  • Timothy Wilson - Ryde