2008 NSWFB State Firefighter Championships - Nowra Fire Brigade named as State Champions

Published: 29th October 2008

After six days of intense competition at the 2008 NSW Fire Brigades (NSWFB) State Firefighter Championships, Nowra Fire Brigade has been crowned as the new State Champions.

Hundreds of NSWFB retained (on-call) firefighters from across the state, and firefighters from the NSW Rural Fire Service (RFS), Queensland Fire and Rescue Service (QFRS), Victorian Country Fire Authority (CFA) and the New Zealand Fire Service (NZFS) were in Tamworth for the bi-annual event.

Thirty-five teams of firefighters took to the competition track to battle it out in 16 events, which reflect the skills and expertise modern firefighters use every day to save life and property.

NSWFB Assistant Commissioner Graham Dewsnap congratulated all of the firefighters who took part in the competition.

"All of the firefighters who took part in the 2008 State Championships put in outstanding performances.

"The Firefighter Championships are a chance for firefighters from across NSW, Queensland, Victoria and even New Zealand to come together to practice the vital life-saving skills they use each day and to build relationships between the various fire services," Assistant Commissioner Dewsnap said.

The team from Nowra performed strongly throughout the competition, winning five of the 16 events, including the new Rescue event, which tests a range of rescue skills including cutting steel and rope skills, as did Kelso Fire Station which took out second place.

Assistant Commissioner Dewsnap said the teams from the New England and North West area also performed well in the competition, with the team from Glen Innes the best placed of the local teams.

"The teams from Tamworth and West Tamworth Fire Stations put a lot of time and effort into organising the 2008 State Championships and into their own training for the event.

"They have hosted a fantastic event and we thank all of the firefighters and residents of Tamworth for their hospitality over the past couple of weeks."

Final results

  1. Nowra Fire Station
  2. Kelso Fire Station
  3. Dorrigo Fire Station
  4. South Grafton Fire Station
  5. Echuca Fire Station
  6. Glen Innes Fire Station
  7. Coffs Harbour Fire Station
  8. Scarborough Fire Station
  9. Muswellbrook Fire Station
  10. Port Macquarie Fire Station
  11. Bega Fire Station
  12. Kootingal (NSWRFS)
  13. Trangie Fire Station
  14. Berry Fire Station
  15. Lakes Entrance (VIC)
  16. Junee Fire Station
  17. Morisset Fire Station
  18. Tamworth Fire Station (Team 1)
  19. Kilcoy (QLD)
  20. Thirroul Fire Station
  21. Wellington Fire Station
  22. Mossburn (NZ)
  23. Kaitangata (NZ)
  24. Hay Fire Station
  25. Caboolture (QLD)
  26. Delroy Fire Station
  27. Deniliquin Fire Station
  28. Unanderra Fire Station
  29. West Tamworth Fire Station
  30. Uralla Fire Station
  31. Albion Park Rail Fire Station
  32. Kemp Place (QLD)
  33. Tamworth (Tame 2)
  34. NSWFB Pirates
  35. Griffith Fire Station

Event results

Event 1: Discipline - Team

  • 1st Lakes Entrance Fire Station, VIC   2nd  Port Macquarie Fire Station    3rd Echuca Fire Station, VIC

Event 2: Ladder Practice - 1 competitor

  • 1st: Retained Firefighter Brad Kane, 392 Muswellbrook
  • 2nd: Retained Firefighter Mark Waters, 383 Morisset
  • 3rd: Retained Firefighter Craig Mayled, 257 Coffs Harbour

Event 3: Urban Pump collector & Ladder - 4 competitors

  • 1st Glen Innes Fire Station
  • 2nd  South Grafton Fire Station
  • 3rd Coffs Harbour Fire Station

Event 4: Urban Pump Booster Valve & Ladder - 4 competitors

  • 1st Kelso Fire Station
  • 2nd Nowra Fire Station
  • 3rd South Grafton Fire Station

Event 5: Urban Pump & Breathing Apparatus Event - 4 competitors

  • 1st Kelso Fire Station
  • 2nd Nowra Fire Station
  • 3rd Port Macquarie Fire Station

Event 6: 600 gallon Pump First Aid Reel & Collector - 4 competitors

  • 1st Coffs Harbour Fire Station
  • 2nd Scarborough Fire Station
  • 3rd Nowra Fire Station

Event 7: Hose & Hydrant - 2 competitors

  • 1st Nowra Fire Station
  • 2nd  Kootingal Fire Brigade, NSWRFS
  • 3rd South Grafton Fire Station

Event 8: 600 gallon Pump Suction - 4 competitors

  • 1st Bega Fire Station
  • 2nd Dorrigo Fire Station
  • 3rd Muswellbrook Fire Station

Event 9: Hose Hydrant & Extinguisher - 3 competitors

  • 1st Nowra Fire Station
  • 2nd   Echuca Fire Brigade, VIC
  • 3rd Dorrigo Fire Station

Event 10: Urban Pump & Breeching - 4 competitors

  • 1st Nowra Fire Station
  • 2nd  Kelso Fire Station
  • 3rd Scarborough Fire Station

Event 11: Rescue

  • 1st Nowra Fire Station
  • 2nd  Wellington Fire Station
  • 3rd Bega Fire Station

Event 12: 600 gallon Collector

  • 1st Dorrigo Fire Station
  • 2nd  Nowra Fire Station
  • 3rd South Grafton Fire Station

Event 13: Hose & Hydrant - 4 competitors

  • 1st Lakes Entrance (VIC)
  • 2nd  Port Macquarie Fire Station
  • 3rd Echuca (VIC)

Event 14: Hose Hydrant & Breeching

  • 1st Echuca (VIC)
  • 2nd  Dorrigo Fire Station
  • 3rd Nowra Fire Station

Event 15: 450 gallon Pump Suction

  • 1st Nowra Fire Station
  • 2nd  Trangie Fire Station
  • 3rd South Grafton Fire Station

Photos of the 2008 NSWFB State Firefighter Championships are available at http://www.firefighterchampionships.com.au/

Media Contact: Tammy Ingold NSWFB Senior Public Affairs Officer 0417 671 372