2008 NSWFB State Firefighter Championships

Published: 24th October 2008

The 2008 NSWFB State Firefighter Championships will be held in Tamworth from 18-24 October.

The bi-annual event attracts hundreds of firefighters from across NSW, Queensland, Victoria and abroad. Forty-two teams of firefighters will participate in 16 events, including the Ladder Practice and Rescue, all vying for the title of State Champion.

The six-day event starts on Saturday 18 October with the traditional Torchlight Procession, where all of the competing teams will march through the city of Tamworth carrying torches. This will be followed by the Fire Spectacular which includes mock fire fighting demonstrations and fire works display.

The Championships also provide an opportunity for the NSWFB to engage with local communities and pass on vital fire safety messages. Over the course of the State Championships, hundreds of Kindergarten and Year 1 students from Tamworth and the surrounding areas will participate in the NSWFB’s Fire ED program.  Students will meet Inspector Bernie Cinders and learn about the role of firefighters, Triple Zero and key fire safety messages like 'get down low and go, go, go' and 'stop, drop and roll'.

In addition, firefighters will be demonstrating the dangers of kitchen fires with Kitchen Fat Fire Simulator displays at 11am and 3pm on 20-21 and 23-24 September. Local residents and visitors will have the opportunity to explore the Community Education display and historical displays on the NSWFB and the Firefighter Championships.

All displays and demonstrations are free to the public.

Events Diary





Friday 17 October


Free concert for Tamworth Seniors by NSWFB Band

West Tamworth Leagues Club, Phillip Street

Saturday 18 October


NSWFB Display including NSWFB Band and Precision Marching Team and fire safety display

Tamworth Regional Council Chambers. Peel Street


Torchlight Procession

Peel Street to Kable Ave


Fire Spectacular including mock firefighting displays and fireworks

No.1 Oval, Kable Ave

Sunday 19 October


Event 1: Discipline

Cross Park, Tamworth


Opening Ceremony – NSWFB Commissioner Greg Mullins will officially open the Championships

Cross Park

Event 2: Ladder Practice – 1 competitor

Cross Park

Event 3: Urban Pump collector & Ladder

Cross Park

Monday 20 October


Event 4: Urban Pump Booster Valve & Ladder

Cross Park

Event 5: Urban Pump & Breathing Apparatus Event

Cross Park

Event 6: 600 gallon Pump First Aid Reel & Collector

Cross Park

Tuesday 21 October


Event 7: Hose & Hydrant – 2 competitor

Cross Park

Event 8: 600 gallon Pump Suction

Cross Park

Event 9: Hose Hydrant & Extinguisher

Cross Park

Event 10: Urban Pump & Breeching

Cross Park

Wednesday 22 October




Thursday 23 October 


Event 11: Rescue

Cross Park

Event 12: 600 gallon Collector

Cross Park

Event 13: Hose & Hydrant – 4 competitors

Cross Park

Friday 24 October


Event 14: Hose Hydrant & Breeching

Cross Park

Event 15: 450 gallon Pump Suction

Cross Park

Event 16: Veterans Suction

Cross Park


State Championships Closing Ceremony

Tamworth Regional Education Centre

Competing teams:

  • Albion Park Rail Fire Station
  • Balgownie Fire Station
  • Bega Fire Station
  • Berry Fire Station
  • Casino Fire Station
  • Coffs Harbour Fire Station
  • Delroy Fire Station
  • Deniliquin Fire Station
  • Dorrigo Fire Station
  • Glen Innes Fire Station
  • Griffith Fire Station
  • Hay Fire Station
  • Junee Fire Station
  • Kelso Fire Station
  • Morisset Fire Station
  • Muswellbrook Fire Station
  • Nowra Fire Station
  • NSWFB Pirates
  • Port Macquarie Fire Station
  • Scarborough Fire Station
  • South Grafton Fire Station
  • Tamworth Fire Station – Team 1
  • Tamworth Fire Station – Team 2
  • Thirroul Fire Station
  • Trangie Fire Station
  • Tweed River Fire Station
  • Unanderra Fire Station
  • Uralla Fire Station
  • Wellington Fire Station
  • West Tamworth Fire Station
  • Echuca Fire Brigade (Victoria)
  • Lakes Entrance Fire Brigade (Victoria)
  • Havelock North Fire Brigade (NZ)
  • Kaitangata Fire Brigade (NZ)                                  
  • Mossburn Fire Brigade (NZ)
  • Kootingal Fire Brigade (RFS)
  • QFRS – Team 1
  • QFRS – Team 2
  • QFRS – Team 3
  • QFRS – Team 4
  • QFRS – Team 5
  • QFRS – Team 6