NSW Fire Brigades Metropolitan North Firefighters Championship

Published: 17th June 2008

On Sunday 15 June, the third round of the 2008 NSW Fire Brigades (NSWFB) Firefighter Championships, held in Morisset, concluded with the team from Nowra Fire Station declared the overall winners, securing their second title for the year.

NSWFB Commissioner Greg Mullins, who was in Morisset for the Championship, congratulated the retained firefighters from Nowra Fire Station on their outstanding performance.

"Nowra Fire Station has again shown their strength in this competition, taking out four of the 12 events over the weekend.

"They will be a tough team to beat at the NSWFB State Championships later this year."

In a case of history repeating itself, Nowra, Kelso and Glen Innes fire stations came in first, second and third respectively, as they did at the second round of the 2008 competition series, held in Mudgee earlier this year.

Commissioner Mullins also congratulated the team from Scarborough Fire Station which was declared the 'in-zone' champion after two days of competition ahead of teams from Morisset, Thirroul and Budgewoi.

Commissioner Mullins said engaging with the community on fire safety was just as important as the competition itself.

"Engaging with the community is a key element of the NSWFB Firefighter Championships - it is an opportunity for us to showcase the skills of NSWFB firefighters and for the community to meet their local firefighters and learn about how they can prevent and prepare for fire and other emergencies.

"Firefighters from Morisset Fire Station visited local primary schools in the week leading up to the Championship to promote fire safety and prevention and many of the students brought their families along to the Championships over the weekend to visit theNSWFB's Community Education stand."

Final overall results for the Metropolitan North Firefighters Championship:

Place Team

  1. Nowra Fire Station
  2. Kelso Fire Station
  3. Glen Innes Fire Station
  4. Kootingal RFS
  5. Scarborough Fire Station
  6. Dorrigo Fire Station
  7. Coffs Harbour Fire Station
  8. Port Macquarie Fire Station
  9. South Grafton Fire Station
  10. Morisset Fire Station
  11. Mudgee Fire Station
  12. Berry Fire Station
  13. Bega Fire Station
  14. Delroy Fire Station
  15. Tweed River Fire Station
  16. Morisset Fire Station (Team 2)
  17. Thirroul Fire Station
  18. Tamworth Fire Station
  19. Budgewoi Fire Station

Place. Team

Download the detailed event results (PDF, 343KB)

The next round of the NSWFB Firefighter Championships will be held in Bega on 30-31 August.

To view photos from the NSWFB Firefighter Championships visit www.firefighterchampionships.com.au