21 New recruits join the firefighting front line

Published: 24th April 2008

NSW Fire Brigades Commissioner (NSWFB) Greg Mullins today congratulated 21 recruit graduates who will take up new firefighting careers at fire stations across Sydney, having completed 16 weeks of intensive training.

The Minister for Emergency Services, Nathan Rees and Commissioner Mullins presented the recruits with their graduating certificates at a ceremony at the NSWFB's State Training College in Alexandria this morning.

Commissioner Mullins said the recruits would now commence careers with one of the leading fire services in the world.
"Being a successful firefighter requires strength of body and mind and involves so much more than climbing ladders or putting out fires.

"These men and women now have an opportunity to not only respond to emergencies, but to educate community members and share their fire safety expertise to help make communities safer,” Commissioner Mullins said.

Commissioner Mullins said that since January 2008, more than 80 new firefighters have joined the NSWFB ranks and the latest recruits come from diverse backgrounds including marketing, lifesaving and teaching.

"It's pleasing that the NSWFB continues to attract such highly-skilled recruits and I wish them long, safe and rewarding careers with the NSWFB."

During this morning's ceremony, a two-year old golden Labrador, named 'Sheba' also graduated to become the NSWFB's latest accelerant detection dog to assist with investigating the cause of suspicious fires.

Mr Rees presented Sheba and her handler, Station Officer Phil Etienne, K9 Team Leader at the NSWFB, with a graduation certificate after completing a year of training.

New firefighting recruits have been assigned to the following fire stations:

  • Scott Tappin - Parramatta
  • Heather Sutton - Parramatta
  • Craig Smith - Parramatta
  • Craig Murrell - Kogarah
  • Stephen Hedger - City of Sydney
  • Trent Duffey - Liverpool
  • Garry Stephens - Kogarah
  • Gregory Scarfe - Burwood
  • Gideon Rogers - Liverpool
  • Lloyd Mulder - Campsie
  • Ronan Taylor-Ware - Pyrmont
  • Paul MacLachlan - Lakemba
  • Glen Gibbons - Randwick
  • Benjamin Gaudin - Lakemba
  • Chrisptopher Allen - Randwick
  • Christopher Oswnett - City of Sydney
  • Rohan Ashton - City of Sydney
  • Chris Coughlan - City of Sydney
  • Steve Richards - Kogarah
  • David Beerwald - City of Sydney
  • Timothy Chalmers - Horningsea Park