Storm strike team deployment

Published: 10th June 2007

Eleven strike teams were deployed by the NSWFB to assist the SES answer thousands of calls for flood-related assistance in Wyong, Woy Woy, Newcastle, Terrey Hills, the Upper Hunter and Toronto. In addition to the local NSWFB crews, a total of 40 fire engines, three rescue vehicles, an aerial ladder platform, nearly 200 firefighters and 27 senior officers formed strike teams and were sent to the worst flood affected areas. Strike teams were deployed from the Training College, and from the Blue Mountains, Berowra, Campbelltown, Coffs Harbour, Hornsby, Hurstville, Kempsey, Maitland, Menai, Mortdale, Mosman, Newcastle, Newtown, Port Macquarie, Randwick, Regentville, Ryde, Seven Hills, Schofields and Wentworthville. In addition to the assistance the strike teams provided in the worst affected areas, the NSWFB was called to 1600 incidents in just 48 hours.