New fire officers take up positions at Sydney fire stations

Published: 16th February 2006

Commissioner Greg Mullins today welcomed 19 new fire officers to the ranks of the NSW Fire Brigades (NSWFB) during a graduation ceremony at the NSWFB Training College in Alexandria.

Commissioner Mullins, the first firefighter to rise through the ranks to CEO level, said the fire officers had just completed four months of intensive training as recruits and would be based at fire stations across Sydney.

“They come well prepared for the challenges ahead after undertaking a baptism of fire while assisting at bushfires on the NSW Central Coast in January,” he said.

“These fire officers protected properties at Umina, Phegans Bay and Woy Woy which were threatened by fierce bushfires on New Years Day.

“They did an outstanding job saving several houses in stifling heat and oppressive conditions with roaring winds and flames up to 20 metres high,” he said.

Commissioner Mullins said the fire officers came from diverse backgrounds including management roles, trades and former retained (part time) fire officers.

“They will protect the community from fires, conduct rescues at road and industrial accidents, deal with hazardous material spills, and contribute to fire investigations and educating the community on fire safety.

“Their skills are formally recognised, making them some of the most highly qualified fire officers in the country. Each recruit has earned a nationally recognised qualification, Certificate 3 in Public Safety (Firefighting and Emergency Operations),” he said.

Commissioner Mullins said the NSW Government was making a substantial investment in community protection.

“During 2006 we will train a further 120 new recruit fire officers and increase the number of station commanders and inspectors at fire stations by 118 through our nationally recognised professional development program.

“The community can be confident that NSW has some of the most highly skilled and qualified fire officers in the world ready to come to their assistance.

“They will experience many personal and professional highlights during their careers as well as being called upon to show great courage and leadership during extreme and challenging situations.

“I commend them on their dedication and achievement over the past four months,” Commissioner Mullins said.

The fire officers listed below will take up positions at fire stations shortly.

They take up their positions at fire stations shortly.

  • Lisa Taylor, Darlinghurst
  • Craig Becus, City of Sydney
  • Matthew Calabretta, Darlinghurst
  • David Holman, City of Sydney
  • Joseph Naughton, Alexandria
  • Michael Smith, Chester Hill
  • Evan Boggiss, Alexandria
  • Roger Smith, Chester Hill
  • Blake Cogle, City of Sydney
  • Shane O’Brien, Chester Hill
  • Paul Westwood, City of Sydney
  • Daniel Meacham, Chester Hill
  • Duncan West, Leichhardt
  • Chad Thompson, Neutral Bay
  • Cameron Thompson, City of Sydney
  • David Norman, Redfern
  • Stuart Newton, City of Sydney
  • Susan Bayliss, Rydalmere
  • Shelly Breda, City of Sydney