Sydney welcomes 16 new fire and rescue firefighters

Published: 19th July 2019

Sixteen new firefighters will take up positions at fire and rescue stations across Sydney after graduating today at the Fire and Rescue NSW (FRNSW) Emergency Services Academy at Orchard Hills.

The state’s newest firefighters include a former baseball player, an interior designer, a lifeguard, a physiotherapist, a commercial diver, a youth worker and several second-generation firefighters.

FRNSW Commissioner Paul Baxter said the graduates had proven their abilities over months of intense training.

“Our firefighters are trained to be prepared for anything and are ready to help anyone, anytime, anywhere,” said Commissioner Baxter.

“This graduating class has the diverse skills, capabilities and talents required to undertake the many different roles of a modern firefighter, including fire response and investigation, community engagement, rescue and hazardous materials response.”

“I know they will uphold the high standards of integrity, courage and professionalism expected of a FRNSW firefighter, and it is a pleasure to welcome these firefighters to our full-time ranks.”

Commissioner Baxter also used the graduation ceremony to launch FRNSW’s recruitment campaign for 2019, encouraging men and women with diverse skills and experience to pursue a career as a firefighter.

“Our newest class of graduates show that great firefighters come from all types of backgrounds and I hope their success inspires others to apply for this diverse, challenging and rewarding career,” he said.

Applications open 19 July 2019 and close 4 August 2019. To learn more and to apply visit:

After today’s Graduation, the following recruits will take up positions at fire stations across Sydney:

Name - Fire Station Station

  • Kristoffer Bishop - Huntingwood
  • Robert Cheney - Gladesville
  • Adrian Davis - Redfern
  • Joshua Dean - Parramatta
  • Mark Hunter - Seven Hills
  • Daniel Jones - Marrickville
  • Dane Leray - Concord
  • Cameron Manton - Cranebrook
  • Camilla Montague - Glebe
  • James Murray - Rydalmere
  • Brenton Paterson - City of Sydney
  • Madison Quinn - Ryde
  • Luke Rosa - Woollahra
  • Amanda Sandland - Arncliffe
  • Andrew Warner - Ashfield
  • Dane Wilmott - Leichhardt