New recruits join firefighting ranks

Published: 17th April 2015

The latest batch of firefighters have today been welcomed into the ranks of Fire & Rescue NSW (FRNSW) by Minister for Emergency Services David Elliott and Fire & Rescue NSW Commissioner Greg Mullins.
Nearly 40 men and women today graduated to full-time firefighters at a special ceremony at the FRNSW State Training College at Alexandria.
Minister for Emergency Services David Elliott congratulated the new firefighters as they joined one of the world’s most trusted professions.
“These graduates have a unique and rewarding road ahead of them,” Mr Elliott said.
“The advanced training they have received has prepared them well for a career which spans firefighting, road accident rescue, high-angle rescue, community risk management, fire science and hazardous materials response.”
Fire & Rescue NSW Commissioner Greg Mullins said the new recruits will join fire crews across greater Sydney.
“I wish the graduating class well in what is an important, but sometimes dangerous, career and I thank them for choosing a profession dedicated to protecting lives, property and the environment of NSW,” Mr Mullins said.
“I know that this unique graduating class will uphold the high standards of integrity, courage and professionalism expected of a FRNSW firefighter, and it is a pleasure to welcome these firefighters to the fulltime ranks.”
The following graduates will be taking up positions at fire stations in the Sydney greater metropolitan area:

Jackson Bouldon - Campsie

Michael Cronin - St Marys

Samuel Bromley - Lakemba

Lee Allen - Lidcombe

Philip Dunne - Lane Cove

Troy Smith - City of Sydney

Thomas Freeman - Concord

Tara Burton - City of Sydney

Hayden Gavin - Guildford

Michael Tener - Schofields

Luke Holliday - Penrith

David Carroll - Cranebrook

Benjamin Hooper - Baulkham Hills

Benjamin Gallard - Matraville

Jay Kendrick - Randwick

Gavin Smith - Lane Cove

Edward Killen - Seven Hills

Colin Green - Cabramatta

Terry Lancaster - Randwick

Matthew Smith - City of Sydney

George Lloyd - City of Sydney

Michael Millar - Schofields

Darren Lowe - Woollahra

Philip Moore - Huntingwood

Neil Smith - Mt Druitt

Kirron Duncan - Liverpool

Russell Stirton - Seven Hills

Mark Tuart - Liverpool

Cameron Tapp - Seven Hills

Benjamin Wilkinson - Kellyville

Shayden Tawhai - Campsie

John Della - Eastwood

Dean Wheeler - Chester Hill

Brendan Binks - Kellyville

Tod Rowbotham - Seven Hills

Beau Douglas - Kellyville

Bryce Ryan - Mt Druitt

Mitchell Handel - Cranebrook

Anthony Harris - Horningsea Park