New recruits join firefighting ranks

Published: 2nd October 2014

After a long selection process and a gruelling 13-week course, 19 recruit firefighters have been officially welcomed into the ranks of Fire & Rescue NSW (FRNSW).

Attending the graduation ceremony at the FRNSW State Training College, Alexandria, Fire & Rescue NSW Commissioner Greg Mullins congratulated the new recruits on successfully completing the course and said they were about to embark on a unique and rewarding career.

"These recruits have been trained in firefighting, road crash rescue, high-angle rescue, community risk management, fire science and hazardous materials response," Commissioner Mullins said.

"They will join fire crews across greater Sydney and put that training to good use.

"I wish these men and women well in what is an important, but sometimes dangerous career, and I thank them for choosing a profession dedicated to protecting lives, property and the environment of NSW," he said.

Commissioner Mullins said the recruits had been selected from thousands of men and women who applied for firefighting positions last year.

"We want communities throughout NSW to be served by a modern and dynamic firefighting workforce that reflects the diversity, culture and skills of society," Commissioner Mullins said.

"I know that this latest batch of recruits will uphold the high standards of integrity, courage and professionalism expected of a FRNSW firefighter," he said.

The firefighters will take up positions across the Sydney metropolitan area, including Parramatta, Sydney city, Smithfield and Neutral Bay.

The new recruits are:

Bradley Collins – Parramatta
Piers Craig – City of Sydney
Bowen Douglas – Parramatta
Paul Eagle – City of Sydney
David Gedler – Smithfield
Daniel Green – Campsie
James Guilfoyle – City of Sydney
Paul Hallahan – Pyrmont
Steven Hancock – Redfern
Mark Lawler – City of Sydney
Mitchell Lord – City of Sydney
Peter Nicholson – Parramatta
Kaitlyn Nielson – Neutral Bay
Scott Panovski – Ashfield
Stefan Peric – City of Sydney
Ben Porter – Smithfield
Phillip Wallace – City of Sydney
Julie Ward – City of Sydney
Timothy Wrigley – Parramatta