Lower Blue Mts Community Fire Unit members' dedication recognised

Published: 21st February 2012

Fire & Rescue NSW (FRNSW) Commissioner Greg Mullins praised the commitment and efforts of Lower Blue Mountains Community Fire Unit members at a special address and medal presentation at Lawson Fire Station last night.

"Commissioner Mullins joined more than 120 Community Fire Unit (CFU) members, local firefighters from Lawson and other Blue Mountains fire stations, and senior FRNSW officers at the local area meeting.

“FRNSW’s Community Fire Unit (CFU) program trains and equips residents in bushfire-prone urban areas to reduce their bushfire risk by preparing their homes and neighbourhoods,” Commissioner Mullins said.

“It was my great pleasure to visit the Blue Mountains and meet some of the men and women who have been integral to the success of the CFU program in the region, which has seen 42 units established from Valley Heights to Bullaburra.”

Commissioner Mullins also took the opportunity to present the FRNSW Long Service and Good Conduct Medals to six CFU members – Kim and Paul Heath; Steven and Suzanne Heimann; Mary Woodall and Kerrie Ford.

"The FRNSW Long Service and Good Conduct Medal recognises diligent long service and good conduct by FRNSW members,” he said.

Commissioner Mullins said long service medals were awarded to fire and rescue officers, support staff and Community Fire Unit members who had served with FRNSW for 10 years.

“These medals acknowledge the commitment and dedication of frontline fire officers, CFU members and support staff who reinforce FRNSW’s proud traditions of service, courage and reliability,” Commissioner Mullins said. “I want to congratulate last night’s recipients.”

For further information on the CFU initiative, visit www.fire.nsw.gov.au.